Volume and database management utilities
purge_volumes
Removes (purges) operating system files that represent deleted Teamcenter objects. The purge_volumes utility can be run interactively, in forced execution mode, or periodically. During a Teamcenter session, users delete objects. However, if an object's associated files remain in the Teamcenter volume, the purge_volumes utility unlocks these files so they can be deleted at the operating system level. Syntax purge_volumes [-u=user-id {-p=password | -pf=password-file} -g=group] [-f] [-s=time] -h Arguments -u Specifies the user ID. This is a user with Teamcenter administration privileges. Note If Security Services single sign-on (SSO) is enabled for your server, the -u and -p arguments are authenticated externally through SSO rather than being authenticated against the Teamcenter database. If you do not supply these arguments, the utility attempts to join an existing SSO session. If no session is found, you are prompted to enter a user ID and password. -p Specifies the password. -pf Specifies the password file. For more information about managing password files, see Manage password files. This argument is mutually exclusive with the -p argument. -g Specifies the group associated with the user. If used without a value, the user's default group is assumed. -f Specifies forced execution mode. When the -f argument is supplied, files are deleted without prompting for confirmation. When the -f argument is not supplied, the purge_volumes utility runs interactively and prompts the user before deleting each file. -s Specifies sleep time in seconds. After each purge_volumes session is complete, it is dormant for the specified time before running again. If the -s argument is not supplied, the purge_volumes only runs once. -h Displays help for this utility. Environment As specified in Setting up a Teamcenter command-line environment. Files As specified in Log files produced by Teamcenter. Restrictions When running the purge_volumes utility periodically with the -s argument, include the -f argument. This disables interactive mode and ensures that the utility runs to completion. Examples To run the purge_volumes utility interactively, enter the following command on a single line: Copy $TC_ROOT/bin/purge_volumes -u=admin-user -p=admin-password -g=dba The purge_volumes utility prompts the user before deleting each volume. When complete, the system displays the following message: Copy Purge_Volumes: terminating Stop returned 0 If no files were deleted, the system displays the following: Copy There are no deleted files in your system Note In order to run the purge_volumes utility at boot time on Linux platforms, add the following line to the appropriate startup script on your Linux system, or add it to the rc script created by the postinstallation routine for the database configuration you want this activity to work against: Copy purge_volumes -u=admin-user -p=admin-password -g=dba -f This starts purge_volumes at boot time and disables confirmation of each delete action. Related Topics Introduction to administering volumes
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/utilities_reference/uqa1737253718952/purge_volumes.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)