Structure Partitions ─ Deployment and Administration
Enable the automatic revision of released part usages during cross-partition movement
As a system administrator, you can enable the automatic creation of revisions when a user moves released part usages between partitions in a Usage BOM. After you enable this, the user does not need to manually revise the part usages.
To enable this, you use the PTN_DefaultAutoReviseMode preference. The default value of this preference is False.
Restrictions and limitations
The following information is applicable only to the Usage BOM.
Procedure
From Launcher, click Preferences.
If this option is unavailable, search for it. You can pin it from the search results for future access.
Search for and open the
PTN_DefaultAutoReviseModepreference.Set the value of the preference to True.
Examples
Consider that you have two partitions: Partition A and Partition B. The partition membership type is member-owned. A released part usage called UsageAB_123 is in Partition A. A user needs to move this part usage to Partition B.
When the value of the PTN_DefaultAutoReviseMode preference is set to False, the user must either manually revise the part usage and then move it, or they must perform the edit property operation to trigger the automatic revision of the part usage.
When the value of the preference is set to True, the user can directly cut and paste the part usage from Partition A to Partition B, or they can drag the part usage to Partition B. Teamcenter automatically creates a new working revision of the part usage in Partition B and maintains the released revision in Partition A. The user does not need to manually revise the part usage.
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/en-US/doc/282219420/PL20251212545240207.xid1977946/gst1012839641189 · retrieved Sat Jul 11 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)