TeamcenterKnowledge

System Administration > File Management System > Administering FMS > Administering volumes

Default volumes

Default volumes specify the default final destination volume for Teamcenter files. Default volumes differ from default local volumes in that default volumes are the first and final destination for Teamcenter files. Default local volumes are temporary storage locations. When users upload a new file, the default volume for the file is determined by the volume attribute of either the user or the user's group. The system determines the volume by working through the following values in order (the first value to have a valid volume is the destination volume): The default volume set by the user The default volume set by a group to which the user belongs The default volume set by a parent group of a group to which the user belongs Any volume to which the user has access Any volume to which a group the user belongs to has access Create the volumes you want to use as default volumes in the Organization application. Creating volumes in the Organization application adds the volumes to the List of Defined Volumes dialog box. To view this list, select a user or a group and click the Default Volume button. For performance reasons, you cannot set a cloud-based volume as a default volume. After you create the volumes, the option to define a default volume is available while creating a new user, modifying an existing user, creating a new group, and modifying an existing group. You can also define a default volume for a user by choosing Edit→User Setting and selecting a default volume from the Volume list.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/fhs4814155880506/uuc1737238583853/fhe1737238587390/ltc1737238596398/defaultVolume.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)