System Administration > File Management System > Administering FMS > Administering volumes > Default local volumes
Enable default local volumes
Default local volumes are temporary local volumes that allow files to be stored locally before they are automatically transferred to the final destination volume. This functionality improves end-user file upload times from clients by uploading files to a temporary volume. This functionality is referred to as store and forward functionality. Procedure Set the TC_Store_and_Forward preference to true. This preference can be used as either a site, user, or group preference. Users and administrators can set the preference by choosing Edit→Options to open the Options dialog box. Use the Search tab in this dialog box to locate the preference and ensure it is set to true. (The default value is false.) (Optional) Set the TC_Store_and_Forward_Transfer_Delay preference to how many minutes file transfer between the initial volume and the destination volume is delayed. Delaying the transfer to the final destination volume can improve performance if your site has a high volume of revisions and the delay is long enough to allow a purge of file revisions before the transfer to the final destination volume. (Optional) Set the TC_allow_inherited_group_volume_access preference to allow subgroups to inherit access to a Teamcenter volume from its parent group. If a group is explicitly granted volume access, and this preference is set to a nonzero number, that group's subgroups (and the subgroup’s children) are implicitly granted access to that volume. Note Inherited access applies to all volumes including default local volumes, also known as store and forward volumes. Create the volumes you want to use as default local volumes in the Organization application. Creating volumes in the Organization application adds the volumes to the List of Defined Volumes dialog box. To view this list, select a user or a group and click the Default Volume button. After you create the volumes, the option to define a default local volume is available while creating a new user, modifying an existing user, creating a new group, and modifying an existing group. You can also define a default local volume for a user by choosing Edit→User Setting and selecting a default local volume from the Local Volume list.
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/fhs4814155880506/uuc1737238583853/fhe1737238587390/ltc1737238596398/usz1737238596621/localVolEnable.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)