TeamcenterKnowledge

Building and editing product structure > Restructuring and editing the product structure

Highlighting edits to the structure

If your administrator sets the PSE_Display_Pending_Edits preference to true, edits to the product structure tabular display are highlighted visually until you save them to the database.

If necessary, you can override this preference setting locally for your current session by selecting the Display Markups for pending edits command.

Highlighting edits feature is available only in Structure Manager, not other structure editor applications.

Note

This feature is not compatible with the BOM markup feature, and you cannot use the two features together.

Ensure you select this feature when you want to edit the BOM directly, not when you want to create markups (propose changes).

You cannot convert pending BOM edits into markups.

Tip

Enable highlighting only when you want to specifically track edits you are making; otherwise, the display may become difficult to interpret.

Close all Structure Manager windows before changing this option to avoid having open windows where edits are not highlighted. (Changing this option does not affect existing windows.)

Edits indicated are as follows:

  • Additions — Displayed in green italic font.
  • Removals — Displayed in red with a strike-through line.
  • Property edits — Displayed with the original values in red with a strike-through line.

If you have pending edits to the structure, you can do any of the following:

  • Click Revert to undo all pending edits to the selected line. All edit marks are removed from the line.
  • Click Save to commit all pending edits to the database. The structure is redisplayed with no edit marks.
  • Click Revert All to cancel all pending edits. The structure is redisplayed with no edit marks.

Note

You cannot compare structures with pending edits with the BOM Compare command. However, you can expand the structure manually to view the effect of pending edits.

Likewise, you cannot highlight pending edits if you enable incremental changes.

Note

You cannot create new associations (for example, a Connected To, Implemented By or Embeds relation) to a line that is displayed in red with a strike-through line.

When you save pending edits, any associations to deleted lines are also deleted. If you revert pending edits, all associations are maintained.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/pse/jdx1737253331775/build_highlightedits.html · retrieved Sat Jul 11 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)