TeamcenterKnowledge

Application Administration > Settings and performance > Preferences

Working with preferences in Active Workspace

You can work with all Teamcenter preferences from within the Active Workspace client using the Preferences page. Preference Management is part of the Active Admin installation option for Teamcenter. Once installed, you can get to this page by either: Using the PREFERENCES tile from your home page. By default, this tile appears in the home page of the TcActiveAdminWorkspace workspace. Navigate directly to the page with the host:port/awc/#/showPreferences URL. This option is only available if your current workspace allows it. What can I do with the preferences location? Your ability to work with preferences is determined by whether you are currently logged in to a group with administrator privileges. Administrator? Permissions. Administrator Search and modify preferences Create and override site, system, group, role, and user preference instances Delete preference instances and definitions Group Administrator Search and modify preferences Create and override group, role, and user preference instances within your group User Search existing preferences Create and override your own user preference instances The organization panel Use the Organization panel to select in which session context you wish to work. If you do not have a choice of working in other session contexts, (you have no administration privileges), then you will not see the Organization panel, and you can only work in your current session context. (optional) Filter the organization list. If you simply use text, the system will match within group, role, user name, or user id. If you use quotation marks, it will search for exact matches, if you don't it will append a wildcard to the end of your text. If you want to include spaces or commas in your search, you must use quotes. You can narrow down the search by using the following prefixes: group: role: username: userid: You can specify more than one of these by putting a space between them. Example To search for the word, design, put design in the field. To search for the specific user id, ed, put userid:"ed" in the field. To search for all users with user ids beginning with ed, put userid:ed in the field. To search for the specific user named Smith, Bob in roles beginning with design, put username:"Smith, Bob" role:design in the field. Select which session context in which you wish to work. If you select the site, you can only work with site locations. If you select a group, you can work with that group's location overrides. If you select a role, you can work with location overrides for that role and its group. If you select a user, you can work with location overrides for that user, role, and group. The preference list will be populated with all valid preference locations for the session context that you have selected, and you are able to: Modify the values of existing preference locations in the session context. Create new preference locations for the session context. Override preferences for this session context, if the preference scope allows it. The preference list Select your working context in the Organization panel, if available. (optional) Filter the preference list by category. (optional) Filter listed preferences. Select a preference. View preference information. (optional) Edit the value at this preference location. If you do not have permission, you will not see this button. Override a preference To override a preference, you must create a new instance of the preference at a higher-precedence location. Each preference defines its own scope, which is the highest precedence location allowed. For example, If a preference's scope is Site, then it cannot be overridden, but if its scope is User then it can be overridden at every level. If a preference instance's location is Site, it will be overridden by any other location instance but if its location is User then it overrides any other location for that specific user. Tip If a preference in the list has a location of None, then that means it is the preference definition and there are no current location instances. Following are the levels of precedence for locations. scope location User Can override at any location. Overrides all other location values. Role Can override at group and role locations. Will override Site and Group location values. Group Can only override at group locations. Will override Site location values. Site Can not override. Is overridden by any other location (optional) Filter the preference list. Select the preference you want to override. Open the New command stack , and then choose Override. In the Add Override panel, choose the location for the override (if allowed), set the new value, and then choose Add.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/gdr3897369475591/anc1737238544437/mva1737238546410/xid1390037.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)