System Administration > Volume Management application > Monitoring volumes
Reallocate volume resources
Procedure (Optional) Display the total space used by users or groups by selecting the Enable Total Space Retrieval check box. When you click Retrieve user information , you are prompted to confirm that you want to continue with this operation. Click OK to display the total space calculations for all users and groups on the selected volume. Note Determining the total space used by users and groups requires calculating the size of every file on the volume. This can be a time-consuming operation if numerous files exist on the volume, taking hours to complete. By default, this calculation is disabled. Balance default volume usage by reallocating users or groups consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default volume by selecting the user or group whose default volume you want to change. Note Default volumes specify the default final destination volume for Teamcenter files. Default volumes differ from default local volumes in that default volumes are the first and final destination for Teamcenter files. (Default local volumes are temporary storage locations.) The boxes to the right of the usage table are populated with user/group information for the selected user or group. Select a different default volume from the Default Volume list. Generally, this is a volume with more free space than the original default volume. Click Modify to send the change to the database. Alternatively, click Reset to reset the value to what is set in the database. Balance default local volume usage by reallocating users or groups consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default local volume by selecting the user or group whose default local volume you want to change. Note Default local volumes are temporary local volumes that allow files to be stored locally before they are automatically transferred to the final destination volume. This functionality improves end-user file upload times from clients by uploading files to a temporary volume. Users can continue to work on their files from the temporary location. The system moves the files to their final destination according to administer-defined criteria. Files are accessible to FMS at all times. This behavior is also referred to as the store and forward of files. The boxes to the right of the usage table are populated with volume information for the selected user or group. Select a different default local volume from the Default Local Volume list. Generally, this is a volume with more free space than the original default local volume. Click Modify to send the change to the database. Alternatively, click Reset to reset the value to what is set in the database.
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/fhs4814155880506/byz1737238570486/ill1737238580260/id1048924.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)