System Administration > Volume Management application > Monitoring volumes
Retrieving volume usage information
Selecting a user from the usage table populates the boxes to the right of the table with the following usage information. Data Description Person Name Specifies the full name of the selected user. User ID Specifies the user ID used for Teamcenter logon. OS Name Specifies the selected user's operating system name. Default Group Specifies the default group assigned to the selected user. When a user belongs to more than one group, one of them is designated as the default group. The user's default group is used at logon unless the user specifies another group. Default Volume Specifies the default volume assigned to the selected user. Typically, default volumes are assigned per group, rather than per user. Siemens Digital Industries Software recommends that you do not define a default volume for each user, as it is time-consuming to change volumes for every user individually. (When a default volume is not specified when creating a user in the Organization application, the group's default volume information is used.) If volume usage is significantly unequal between users and volume free space is becoming limited, you can balance volume usage by reallocating users consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default volume. Default Local Volume Specifies the default local volume assigned to the selected user. This temporary local volume allows the file to be stored locally before it is automatically transferred to the final destination in the background. Once the file is stored in the default local volume, the user can continue working without having to wait for the upload to take place. If volume usage is significantly unequal between users and volume free space is becoming limited, you can balance volume usage by reallocating users consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default local volume. Selecting a group from the usage table populates the boxes to the right of the table with the following group information. Data Description Group Name Specifies the name of the selected group. Description Provides a description of the group, entered by the system administrator when creating the selected group. To Parent Specifies the parent group of the selected group. Default Volume Specifies the default volume assigned to the selected group. Typically, default volumes are assigned per group, rather than per user. (When a default volume is not specified when creating a user, the group's default volume information is used.) Warning If you create a group without assigning a default volume, group members cannot save datasets. If volume usage is significantly unequal between groups and volume free space is becoming limited, you can balance volume usage by reallocating groups consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default volume. Default Local Volume Specifies the default local volume assigned to the selected group. This temporary local volume allows the file to be stored locally before it is automatically transferred to the final destination in the background. Once the file is stored in the default local volume, the user can continue working without having to wait for the upload to take place. If volume usage is significantly unequal between groups and volume free space is becoming limited, you can balance volume usage by reallocating groups consuming large amounts of volume space to a different default local volume.
Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/fhs4814155880506/byz1737238570486/ill1737238580260/id1275670.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)