TeamcenterKnowledge

Configuring structures by classic variants

Saving, refreshing, and copying variant data

You should be aware how Teamcenter handles variant data when you select any of the following actions: Save Variant data stored on item revisions (options, defaults and rule checks) is saved only when you click Save at the bottom of the Variants pane. This button is active only if there are unsaved changes. If you forget to save changes, you are prompted when you select another structure line. Variant conditions are stored in the BOM view revision. They are saved only when you click Save on the toolbar or choose File→Save. If you forget to save changes, you are prompted when you close the Structure Manager application. Refresh To reload the variant data on the item revision for the currently selected line, click the Refresh button in the Variants pane. This action discards changes made since the last time you clicked Save , and loads any changes made by other users in the meantime. Save As If you select an item revision and choose Save As, option and variant data on the first level of the structure does not carry forward because the BVR context changes. At the second and subsequent levels of the structure, the BVR context is the same, and options and variant conditions are therefore carried forward. Copy When you copy an item or item revision, any variant conditions are not copied.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/pse/qwa1737253395276/var_save_refresh.html · retrieved Sat Jul 11 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)