TeamcenterKnowledge

Building and editing product structure > Deleting items

Deleting items

You can delete a single selected item or item revision; alternatively, you can recursively delete all items below a selected line. You must have read-write permission to the item to successfully delete it. If you delete a selected revision of an item, Teamcenter does not delete other revisions of the item or the item itself. If you delete a revision of an item and it is the only revision, Teamcenter also deletes the item. A delete action only deletes the occurrences of the selected item revision from the current Structure Manager session. If a precise or imprecise structure is loaded and you delete an item revision, Teamcenter performs a structure expansion and removes all occurrences of the item revision before deleting the item revision itself. If there is only one revision of the item, the item is also deleted.

Note Previously, when two different revisions of the same item were attached to the same precise BVR and you tried to delete one of the revisions, Teamcenter deleted both item revisions. You can delete an item or item revision from a structure even if it is duplicated elsewhere in Teamcenter.

Note Deleting an item occurs in two steps—removal of the line from the parent in Structure Manager and then deletion of the item from the database. If the deletion fails, the line is removed from the parent, but the item is not deleted from the database. (Deletions typically fail because the user does not have the necessary permission.) You can search for the item, and then copy and paste it back into the structure. Structure Manager checks if the item revision can be deleted before attempting to cut the line and reports any errors that would be encountered when deleting the item revision after the line is cut. If the item represents a large assembly, it may take a considerable time to complete. In this case, Teamcenter displays a dialog box that allows you to choose to cancel the action, continue with the deletion, or only remove selected lines instead.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/pse/jdx1737253331775/ypp1737253347020/build_delete_items.html · retrieved Sat Jul 11 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)