TeamcenterKnowledge

Application Administration > Settings and performance > Preferences

Defining the revision rules list

Revision rules determine the state of objects you view in the user interface. Users click the revision rule to display the list of all available revision rules. To set a different revision rule, a user selects another revision rule from the list. By default, the list of available revision rules is obtained from Teamcenter. However, as an administrator, you may want to provide different revision rules for Active Workspace than are used in the rich client. For example, you may want to have Active Workspace default to Latest Released whereas you want the rich client to still default to Latest Working. To set a different list of revision rules for Active Workspace, add revision rules to the AWC_Rev_Rule_List preference. Whenever a custom revision rule is created, you must add it to this preference for it to appear in the revision rules list. By default, the preference is empty, meaning that the revision rules list in Active Workspace defaults to the revision rules from the rich client. To set the revision rule that is selected by default, add it to the AWC_Rev_Rule_Selected preference. The revision rule in this preference must match a revision rule in the AWC_Rev_Rule_List preference. If the revision rule in the AWC_Rev_Rule_Selected preference is removed from the AWC_Rev_Rule_List preference, you must change the revision rule in the AWC_Rev_Rule_Selected preference to one in the AWC_Rev_Rule_List preference. By default, the AWC_Rev_Rule_Selected preference is empty, meaning that the first revision rule in the AWC_Rev_Rule_List preference is the one that is selected by default in the user interface.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/gdr3897369475591/anc1737238544437/mva1737238546410/xid1180523.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)