TeamcenterKnowledge

Application Administration > Configuring Active Collaboration

Modifying discussion default operation

You can modify the following default discussion behaviors by changing their related preferences. Enabling tracked discussions Enabling tracked discussions allows users to identify and view particular discussions based on priority and status. A Tracked tab is added to the Discussions location and an unchecked Tracked check box is available on each discussion. The Tracked tab lists any discussions for which the user has clicked Tracked and set priorities and status. Users can sort and filter their messages based on priority and status on the Tracked tab. To activate tracked discussions for users, set the Ac0EnableTrackedDiscussions preference to true. The default value of this preference is false. Automatically adding object owners as discussion participants By default, an object's owner is not automatically added to every discussion on the object. This approach is often appropriate for organizations in which objects and structures are typically created by individuals not actually responsible for those objects. Organizations in which individuals typically create objects they are responsible for may wish to have the owner automatically added to every discussion on an object. Owners can manually be removed as participants in any individual discussion at any point in time. To automatically add object owners to discussions on objects they own, set the Ac0AddOwnerAsDefaultParticipant preference to true. Setting all messages as private By default, all discussions are available for viewing by all users who can access the related objects Participants can manually restrict viewing of individual discussions to only the participants of the discussion. Organizations that prefer to limit the viewing of all discussions can specify that discussions be viewable by only participants in the discussions by default. Be aware that participants in a discussion can remove the privacy restriction by unchecking Private Message on the discussion. To have discussions viewable by only their participants by default, set Ac0DefaultIsPrivate to true.

Source: https://docs.sw.siemens.com/documentation/external/PL20251212545240207/en-US/tc_help/AWAdmin/gdr3897369475591/ngw8348106742938/xid2305775.html · retrieved Fri Jul 31 2026 00:00:00 GMT+0000 (Coordinated Universal Time)